Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Tapasā Workshops

Sign up for a Tapasā professional learning and development workshop on teaching Pacific learners across all education sectors. These workshops will be held nationally and will be co-facilitated by leading Expert Pacific Teachers and the Teaching Council. All teachers, principals/professional leaders, kaiako and tumuaki in early childhood education, primary and secondary school settings are welcome to attend these free workshops.

The aim of Tapasā is to build a confident, competent and culturally-aware education workforce which can engage successfully with Pacific learners. The programme will assist you to:

  • Understand how Tapasā: Cultural competencies framework was developed and its relevance for you as a teacher
  • Develop a high-quality and empowering learning environment for Pacific learners
  • Have a strong understanding of both your own and your learners’ identities, languages and cultures
  • Improve learning outcomes for Pacific learners, their parents, families and communities
  • Apply the lens of Tapasā to the Standards of the Teaching Profession and the Code of Professional Responsibility

To obtain a registration form please e-mail: tapasaregistrations@educationcouncil.org.nz specifying the date and location of the workshop you’re interested in.

Date Location Time

Monday 11th February 2019

West Auckland WORKSHOP FULL

Wednesday 20th February 2019

West Auckland WORKSHOP FULL
Tuesday 26th February 2019

Palmerston North

WORKSHOP FULL

Monday 4th March 2019

South Auckland

WORKSHOP FULL

Tuesday 5th March 2019

Hamilton WORKSHOP FULL

Wednesday 6th March 2019

Wellington (Central) WORKSHOP FULL

Thursday 7th March 2019

Wellington (Porirua) WORKSHOP FULL

Monday 11th March 2019

North Auckland

WORKSHOP FULL

Wednesday 13th March 2019

Invercargill 3:30pm - 5.45pm

Thursday 14th March 2019

Dunedin

WORKSHOP FULL

Tuesday 19th March 2019

Central Auckland WORKSHOP FULL

Friday 22nd March 2019

Tauranga WORKSHOP FULL

Wednesday 27th March 2019

Christchurch

WORKSHOP FULL

Thursday 28th March 2019

Christchurch WORKSHOP FULL

Tuesday 2nd April 2019

New Plymouth 3:30pm - 5.45pm

Thursday 4th April 2019

Whangarei 3:30pm - 5.45pm

Monday 8th April 2019

Havelock North WORKSHOP FULL

Tuesday 9th April 2019

Rotorua WORKSHOP FULL

To obtain a registration form please e-mail: tapasaregistrations@educationcouncil.org.nz

We are expecting strong interest in these workshops so please register as soon as possible. 

However, if minimum numbers aren't reached, we may be unable to go ahead with a workshop.